Mu Sigma Rho is the National Statistics Honor Society which was founded at Iowa State University in 1968 by Ted Bancroft, David Huntsberger, and Oscar Kempthorne. The organization's membership includes students, both undergraduate and graduate, faculty, and honorary members in 17 chapters throughout the country. The purpose of our society is to promote and encourage scholarly activity in statistics and to recognize achievement among students and faculty.

The Virginia Alpha Chapter of Mu Sigma Rho was established at Virginia Tech in 1979. The chapter meets twice a year. At the fall meeting in November new members are recognized and presented with certificates. The spring meeting is held in April to announce the results of the election of officers for the upcoming term. As part of the chapter's commitment to excellence in statistics, a speaker is sponsored at both meetings in conjunction with the weekly colloquium series in the Department of Statistics at Virginia Tech. Recent speakers include:

  • Dr. Max Morris (Iowa State) - Fall 2011
  • Dr. Dipek Dey (University of Connecticut) - Spring 2011
  • Dr. Dennis Lin (Pennsylvania State University) - Fall 2010
  • Dr. Douglas Zahn (Florida State University - Spring 2010
  • Dr. Montserrat Fuentes (North Carolina State University) - Fall 2009
  • Dr. Jerry Oglesby (SAS) - Spring 2009
  • Dr. J. Stuart Hunter - Fall 2008
  • Dr. Oliver Schabenberger (SAS Institute Inc.) - Spring 2008
  • Dr. Alan Agresti (University of Florida) - Fall 2007
  • Dr. Andrew Lawson (University of South Carolina) - Spring 2007
  • Dr. Klaus Hinkelmann (Virginia Tech) - Fall 2006
  • Dr. Douglas M. Hawkins (University of Minnesota) - Spring 2006
  • Dr. Raymond H. Myers (Virginia Tech) - Fall 2005
  • Dr. Paul F. Velleman (Cornell University) - Spring 2005
  • Dr. Raymond H. Myers (Virginia Tech) - Fall 2004
  • Dr. Norman Draper (University of Wisconsin) - Spring 2004
  • Dr. Michael Lavine (Duke University) - Fall 2003
  • Dr. John A. Cornell (University of Florida) - Spring 2003
  • Dr. Angela Neff-Patterson (General Electric) - Fall 2002


In order to qualify for membership in Mu Sigma Rho, graduate students must have completed at least 12 or more graduate credit hours in statistics with a QCA of 3.5 or better. Undergraduate students must be seeking a bachelor's degree in statistics, towards which they must have completed two years of coursework. Eight credit hours must be statistics course work with at least five of these credit hours being at the junior level or higher. They must also have a major QCA of at least 3.25 and be in top 1/3 of their class (junior or senior).

Faculty Advisor

Jeffrey B. Birch
210-C Hutcheson Hall


Caleb King
307 Sandy Hall


Marcos Carzolio
301 Sandy Hall


Andrew Hoegh
309 Sandy Hall


Both the faculty advisor and the officers can be reached at the following mailing address:

Department of Statistics (MC0439)
Hutcheson Hall, RM 406-A, Virginia Tech
250 Drillfield Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24061



Mu Sigma Rho provides a list of tutors for a variety of undergraduate and graduate courses to Virginia Tech students. This list is kept in the main office of the statistics department, 406-A Hutcheson Hall.